Cultural Institutions
weimar.deCultureCultural InstitutionsBauhaus-Universität Weimar

Bauhaus-Universität Weimar

World Heritage alive

With faculties and areas of study such as Architecture and Urbanism, Civil Engineering, Art and Design and Media, the Bauhaus-Universität Weimar has a distinctive identity. Today the University offers an extensive spectrum of instruction with about 40 courses of study, including fine art, design, visual communication, media design, media studies, computer scinence and media, architecture, civil engineering, materials science, processing technology, environment and management. The term »Bauhaus« stands for an eagerness to experiment, openness, creativity and internationality.

Important traditions

The State Bauhaus in Weimar represents an important chapter in the more than 150-year history of the Bauhaus-Universität Weimar and an essential part of humanity’s cultural heritage. In 1996, the »Bauhaus Sites in Weimar and Dessau« were officially added to the list of UNESCO World Heritage. In Weimar these include:

- the university’s Main Building (birthplace of the Bauhaus)

- the small Van de Velde Building (formerly the Grand Ducal Saxon School of Arts and Crafts)

- the Haus Am Horn (currently under the proprietorship of the Circle of Friends of the Bauhaus-Universität Weimar)

- the Brendel Studio (formerly the  Bauhaus dining hall)

- and the Ceramics Workshop of the State Bauhaus (located in Dornburg).

In its official statement, the UNESCO justified its selection, stating "the Bauhaus, with its sites in Weimar (Thuringia) and Dessau (Saxony-Anhalt), represents the so-called Bauhaus school of architecture which, between 1919 and 1933, applied revolutionary ideas to building design and town planning. The buildings of the Bauhaus professors, from Walter Gropius to Hannes Meyer, Lazlo Moholy-Nagy to Wassily Kandinsky, founded the Bauhaus style, which made a decisive mark on the architecture of the 20th century.«



Students: apprx. 4.000

Studies: 40

4 Faculties:
Architecture and Urbanism  
Civil Engineering

University's management


Prof. Dr. Winfried Speitkamp

Vice-President of Internationalisation and Digitisation:

Prof. Dr. Jutta Emes

Vice-President of Academic Affairs:

Prof. Nathalie Singer


Dr. Horst Henrici



Hauptgebäude der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar
Geschwister-Scholl-Straße 8
99423 Weimar