Haus am Horn
It was a simple cubic design, utilizing steel and concrete in its construction. At the center of the house was a clerestory-lit living room, twenty-feet square, with specialized rooms surrounding it. Gropius described the room's design: "in each room, function is important, e.g. the kitchen is the most practical and simple of kitchens - but it is not possible to use it as a dining room as well. Each room has its own definite character which suits its purpose." Each room had specially-designed furnishings and hardware designed by and created in the Bauhaus workshops. Laszlo Moholy-Nagy, for instance, designed the lights and were made in the metal workshop; Marcel Breuer, a student at the time, designed the furniture, including the built-in cabinetry.
Owing to the Bauhaus's financial difficulties, the Haus am Horn was sold to a private individual in 1924. In 1996, it entered onto the monument preservation list of UNESCO and was declared a 20th century world heritage site.
Due to reconstruction work, the house on the Horn is currently closed. It can be visited only during a Bauhaus walk.
April - October:
Mon 10.00 am - 6.00 pm
Tue is closed
Wed - Sun 10.00 am - 6.00 pm
November - March: closed
Advance booking for the next day only. The tickets pre-sale takes place exclusively in the museum and in the kiosk at Stéphane-Hessel-Platz.
The early Bauhaus
Walk in the footsteps of Walter Gropius and discover Bauhaus sites and stories.
Follow the paths of early Bauhaus through Weimar and experience the past and present of the Bauhaus University Weimar. Regular guided tours from students (in German) and prereserved group tours. Tickets at Tourist-Information and the Bauhaus-Atelier.